Liechtenstein Holiday

Liechtenstein, officially known as the Principality of Liechtenstein, is a landlocked microstate located in Central Europe. It is bordered by Switzerland to the west and south and Austria to the east and north. Despite its small size, Liechtenstein boasts a rich cultural heritage and stunning Alpine landscapes.



Liechtenstein has a mountainous terrain, with the Alps dominating much of its landscape. The climate is continental, characterized by cold winters and mild summers. Precipitation is evenly distributed throughout the year, with snowfall common in higher elevations during the winter months.


The fauna of Liechtenstein is diverse, with Alpine species such as ibex, chamois, and marmots inhabiting its mountainous regions. Birdlife is also abundant, with species such as eagles, owls, and ptarmigans found in the country’s forests and alpine meadows.

Longest Rivers

The longest river in Liechtenstein is the Rhine, which forms part of the country’s western border with Switzerland. The Rhine is a vital waterway for Liechtenstein, supporting activities such as fishing, hydroelectric power generation, and transportation.

Highest Mountains

Liechtenstein is home to several majestic peaks, with the highest being the Vorder-Grauspitz, reaching an elevation of approximately 2,599 meters (8,527 feet) above sea level. Other notable peaks include the Drei Schwestern and the Falknishorn, offering breathtaking views of the surrounding landscape.



The area now known as Liechtenstein has been inhabited since prehistoric times, with evidence of human settlement dating back to the Neolithic era. The region was later inhabited by Celtic tribes, followed by the Romans, who established settlements and trade routes in the area.

Medieval Era

Liechtenstein emerged as a distinct territory during the Middle Ages, with the formation of the County of Vaduz and the Lordship of Schellenberg. These territories were ruled by various noble families, including the Counts of Montfort and the Counts of Hohenems, before coming under the control of the Liechtenstein family in the 17th century.

Formation of the Principality

In 1719, the Holy Roman Emperor Charles VI granted the territories of Vaduz and Schellenberg to the Liechtenstein family, who subsequently united them to form the Principality of Liechtenstein. The principality remained under the sovereignty of the Holy Roman Empire until its dissolution in 1806.

Modern Age

Liechtenstein maintained its independence and neutrality during the tumultuous events of the 19th and 20th centuries, including the Napoleonic Wars, World War I, and World War II. In the post-war period, Liechtenstein experienced rapid economic development, transforming from an agrarian society into a modern, industrialized nation.


Liechtenstein has a population of approximately 39,000 people, making it one of the smallest countries in the world by population. The population is ethnically homogeneous, with the majority of residents being of German descent. The official language is German, although English is widely spoken, particularly in business and tourism.

Administrative Divisions

Liechtenstein is divided into 11 municipalities, each with its own local government and administrative authority.

List of Administrative Divisions with Population

  1. Vaduz – Population: 5,500
  2. Schaan – Population: 6,000
  3. Triesen – Population: 5,000
  4. Balzers – Population: 4,000
  5. Eschen – Population: 4,500
  6. Mauren – Population: 3,000
  7. Triesenberg – Population: 2,500
  8. Ruggell – Population: 2,000
  9. Gamprin – Population: 1,500
  10. Planken – Population: 500
  11. Schellenberg – Population: 1,000

10 Largest Cities by Population

  1. Vaduz
  2. Schaan
  3. Triesen
  4. Balzers
  5. Eschen
  6. Mauren
  7. Triesenberg
  8. Ruggell
  9. Gamprin
  10. Schellenberg

Education Systems

Education in Liechtenstein is free and compulsory for children between the ages of 6 and 16. The country has a well-developed education system, with both public and private schools offering primary, secondary, and tertiary education. Liechtenstein also has a high literacy rate, reflecting its commitment to providing quality education to its citizens.


Liechtenstein has a well-developed transportation infrastructure, with efficient road networks and access to international airports and rail connections.


Liechtenstein does not have its own airport, but it is served by nearby airports in Switzerland and Austria. The nearest international airports are Zurich Airport in Switzerland and Friedrichshafen Airport in Germany.


Liechtenstein does not have its own railway network, but it is connected to the Swiss and Austrian rail systems. The Swiss Federal Railways (SBB) and the Austrian Federal Railways (OBB) provide train services to and from Liechtenstein, offering convenient access to major cities and tourist destinations in the region.


Liechtenstein has a network of well-maintained highways and roads, providing easy access to neighboring countries and major cities in Europe. The A13 motorway, also known as the Rheintal Autobahn, is the main highway running through Liechtenstein, connecting it to Switzerland and Austria.


Liechtenstein is a landlocked country and does not have any seaports. However, it has access to nearby ports on the Rhine River in Switzerland and Germany, providing opportunities for river transport and trade.

Country Facts

  • Population: 39,000
  • Capital: Vaduz
  • Language: German
  • Religion: Roman Catholicism
  • Ethnicity: German
  • Currency: Swiss Franc (CHF)
  • ISO Country Codes: LI
  • International Calling Code: +423
  • Top-level Domain: .li